Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Mr. Zibel - Freshmen Research Paper Periods 3-4, 6-7: MLA Style Works Cited

Check for Understanding

__ I registered with Easybib

__ I chose the MLA style 7

__ I am careful to document all the sources that I use

Why is the Works Cited page needed?

When you write a paper, you get information from many places.  Give them credit through the Works Cited page AND Parenthetical citations (see above tab).

If you don't give them credit, you are guilty of plagiarism, which is using someone else's ideas and words as your own.  Plagiarism earns a grade of zero.

Start with Easybib and MLA

The style that you are using for this paper is called MLA style.  It is used for English, history, and foreign language papers.  For details in citing in the MLA style, consult Easybib's help.

1. Register with Easybib if you haven't already.  Enter the Monty Tech Library password in the Coupon Code box.
2. Login to Easybib and find your "project" or start a new one.
3. Choose as a default, MLA style.  Keep 7.
4. Add your citations.  See video below if you haven't used Easybib before.
5. Click on Print as Word Doc.
6. Choose to open with Word.  Add your last name in the right corner and your page number in the left corner.

YouTube video on Using Easybib in the MLAStyle

This 11+ minute video was created by Mrs. Jourdain for Monty Tech students.  If you can, make the video the full screen and move the quality up to 720 HD for best quality.

What is a Works Cited?

A Works Cited page is a separate page at the end of a research paper that lists all of the sources that you used in the paper.  Do not list any sources in your Works Cited that you didn't refer to in the paper.  These references in the paper are called "parenthetical citations" or "in-text citations."

Your finished Works Cited page should look something like this. The entries go in this order: Database, book, database, website.  They are all in alphabetical order, double spaced with an indent from the second line down.

Smith  5

Works Cited

Hector, Andy, and Lindsay A. Turnbull. "How to Get Even with Pests: Organic Farming

      Supports Higher Biodiversity. Research Involving the Colorado Potato Beetle Shows

      That This Increased Diversity Can Deliver a Better Ecosystem Service in the Form

      of More Effective Pest Control." Nature 466.7302 (2010): 36+. Gale Science In

      Context.
Web. 13 Dec. 2012.

MacGillivray, Alex. Understanding Rachel Carson's Silent Spring. New York: Rosen Pub.,
   
      2011. Print.

Marshall, Michael. "GM Food: The Case For The Defence." New Scientist 216.2886

      (2012): 8.  Science Reference Center. Web. 13 Dec. 2012.

"Pesticide Use Site Index." U.S. Enivronmental Protection Agency. N.p., 27 Oct. 2007.

      Web. 13 Dec. 2012.

How is a Works Cited different from a bibliography?

A bibliography lists sources you used and reviewed.  An annotated bibliography contains a short summary of the source and an explanation why you chose to use it or not.  Easybib allows you to add annotations if you wish.  You will not be producing a bibliography or annotated bibliography for this paper.  Only put works you use in your paper in your Works Cited.

Database Citations

Most library databases provide the citation for you.  Copy and paste them into Easybib.  Follow these steps for the MLA style:

1. Copy from the author's name or the title to the end of the citation.
2. In Easybib, Click on Bibliography.
3. Click on the Database tab.
4. Click on Copy & Paste.
5. Paste the citation and click Create Citation.


Note: When the information is pasted, it loses the italics around the journal name and the volume number.  You can make these italicized after you produce your final Works Cited in Word.  Or you can add italics code by following the instructions in the easybib paste window.