Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Mr. Zibel - Freshmen Research Paper Period 8/9: Search

Check for Understanding

In searching for sources, I have

__ Looked in Library databases and ebooks

__ Started or continued a Works Cited page in Easybib.com

Three Sources of Research

You will need at least TWO sources for your paper.  Both must come from a database or ebook.

Databases

Recommended:

 

Note: Each of these databases provide you with the citation!

Hints:
Try searching for the word Elizabethan (World History in Context) or try Renaissance England (ABC-CLIO)
With ABC-CLIO, choose one of two sub-databases: Daily Life through History and World History: The Modern Era
Use JSTOR for more scholarly information.  Use the URL in "website" in Easybib.

Reminders:
1. Less is more.  The more specific your keywords, the better the results.
2. Try different combinations of keywords to search.
3. Use Advanced Search in any database to narrow results.
4. Email or use "print-friendly".
5. Databases provide the citation for you to copy and paste into Easybib and your notes.
6. Watch out for plagiarism!  Don't just copy word for word what you find.  Take quality notes!

Try the direct link for all databases at libguides.montytech.net/databases.

Book Sources

Using Follett Shelf:

While the Library is under renovation, books are made available online through Follett Shelf.  In order to use Follett Shelf books on a computer, you need to know your login and password, and go to this link: https://wbb17557.follettshelf.com.  Search your keywords.  Keep in mind that the less keywords the better.  You can always read on the computer.  If you wish to download this book to read on your own device, please go to this website for instructions.

Recommended Booklist (Do a Title Search):

Daily life in Elizabethan England by Jeffrey Forgeng

Elizabethan England by Stuart Kallen

Elizabethan England by Kathy Elgin (for fashion and costume)

Culture and society in Shakespeare's day by Robert Evans

Literature and the theater in Shakespeare's day by Robert Evans

Shakespeare's life by Brett Foster

William Shakespeare playwright & poet by Emma Carlson Berne


About using print sources: The Monty Tech Library is closed for renovations.  Even with the internet, many people prefer using print books.  Many print books contain information not available in a digital method.  If I'm talking about you, use your public library!

Go to your local library to sign up for a card.

Search by format, keyword, or library.  When you have your own library card, you can request any book you find in the system to be sent to your own town library. 

Easybib.com


You will use MLA format to cite your sources.  You need to register with easybib in order to save your citations.  When you register, enter the Montytech password to get the school account.