Skip to main content

Home: Works Cited

Library's Homepage

MyBib

MyBib.com is a citation manager that provides free citations for MLA, APA, and Chicago style.   Create a new Project, then Add a Citation.  Choose from website, book, journal, video, and more.   If citing a database article, click on More and then Write/Paste.  When you are ready to print your Works Cited or References page, click on Download Bibliography.  Click here for handout.

Template for MLA 8

Instructions for Citing in MLA 8

Use this template for ALL Citations. If the item is absent, leave it out:
 

1. Author.

2. “Title of article, photo, video, or chapter.”

3. Title of the website, magazine, or book,

4. Other contributors,

5. Version numbers listed: ed. vol. or no.,

6. Publisher name,

7. Publication date,

8. Page numbers: p. or pp.

9. Title of database or other larger container,

10. Publisher of database or larger container,

11. URL (do not include http://) or DOI (for databases if available).

12. Accessed day month year.

Parenthetical Citations

Please use a citation after all direct quotes and after paraphrased information. Use a signal phrase before direct quotes.  Ex. According to Paul Simmons, "Shakespeare continues to amaze us after centuries," (Simmons).

Works with author and page numbers:
(Popoff 10).

Works with an author and no page numbers:
(Parker).

Works without an author or page number. Enter a shortened title in quotes:
("Stryper").

Librarian

Jennifer Jourdain's picture
Jennifer Jourdain
Contact:
Montachusett Regional Voc Tech School
1050 Westminster Street
Fitchburg, MA 01420
jourdain-jennifer@montytech.net
(978) 345-9200 x5125
Website

T.A.D.I.

When formatting your Works Cited, remember T.A.D.I.

T: Times New Roman, 12 point font (the entire page)
A: Alphabetical order
D: Double spaced throughout
I: Indent after the first line.

Sample Works Cited

   Works Cited

Bentley, Evie. "Seasonal Affective Disorder." Psychology Review, Sept. 1999, p. 18. General OneFile, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/A79381597/GPS?u=mlin_c_montytech&sid=GPS&xid=20e557aa. Accessed 27 Nov. 2018.

Bradbury, Ray. The Illustrated Man . Simon & Schuster, 2012.

“Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD).” Mayo Clinic, 25 Oct. 2016, https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/seasonal-affective-disorder/symptoms-causes/syc-20364651. Accessed 27 Nov. 2018.

 

MLA 8 Examples

Website Example:

“Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD).” Mayo Clinic, 25 Oct. 2016, https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/seasonal-affective-disorder/symptoms-causes/syc-20364651. Accessed 27 Nov. 2018.

Database Example:

Bentley, Evie. "Seasonal Affective Disorder." Psychology Review, Sept. 1999, p. 18. General OneFile, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/A79381597/GPS?u=mlin_c_montytech&sid=GPS&xid=20e557aa. Accessed 27 Nov. 2018.

Picture Found Online Example:

“Stryper Band Photo.” MetaMansion, metamansion.com/wp-content/uploads/images/Stryper_ 21305.jpg. Accessed 12 Aug. 2016.

Print Book:

Bradbury, Ray. The Illustrated Man . Simon & Schuster, 2012.

Video Found Online Example:

“The Decline of Western Civilization Part II: The Metal Years: 1988.” YouTube, uploaded by Huntervoi, 14 May 2007.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=y9KCS8d82EM. Accessed 12 Aug. 2016.

Crafting Parenthetical Citations and Signal Phrases

  • Parenthetical Citations refer to the source where you found the information.  Everything that comes before the citation is assumed to have come from that source.
  • They match sources in the Works Cited (MLA).
  • They go after direct quotations, paraphrases, and summaries.
  • They always go at the end of the sentence and the period goes after them.
  • These are also called "in-text" citations.
  • With a direct quote, the parenthetical citation goes between the end quote and the period.

Examples in MLA Style:

Paraphrase: Because children were usually baptised soon after birth, we celebrate Shakespeare's birthday as April 23, 1564 ("William Shakespeare").

Quotation: Shakespeare only mentions his wife once in his will, leaving her his "second best bed" ("William Shakespeare").

The parenthetical citations above relate to this citation from the Works Cited:

"William Shakespeare." Britannica School, Encyclopædia Britannica, 30 Sep. 2016. school.eb.com/levels/high/article/109536. Accessed 27 Nov. 2016.


A "signal phrase" is used to introduce a quotation or paraphrased information. The following contains the signal phrase "According to." If the source material stated is from a database or the web and doesn't have page numbers, do not put anything in parenthesis afterwards.  If the source has page numbers, put the page number in parenthesis afterward the paraphrase.

Example:  According to Salisbury and Morris, the entertainment industry was created during the English Renaissance.

 

This is from the Works Cited:

Salisbury, Joyce and Lawrence Morris. "Theater in England: 15th and 16th Centuries." Daily Life through HistoryABC-CLIO, 2015. Web. 1 Mar. 2015.