Pop Culture Universe
Mr. Zibel’s Decades Project Timeline of Events as of 9/16/15
Dates and items are subject to change due to unforeseen events/circumstances/etc.
9/14- Lib Guide, databases, Easybib information/ demonstration/, google refresher, etc.
9/15- Lib Guide, databases, Easybib information/ demonstration/, google refresher, etc.
9/16- Assignment given out and explanation of requirements.
9/17- Lab time for research and other English work if applicable.
9/18- Lab time for research and other English work if applicable.
9/30- Lab time for research and other English work if applicable and Works Cited (to date) due
10/2- Lab time for research and other English work if applicable and completed source note cards due and typed introduction with thesis as last sentence of paragraph due.
10/14- Lab time for research and other English work if applicable and outline due by the end of the period.
10/26- Peer review.
10/28- Lab time for any final edits.
10/29- Project due at beginning of period- no exceptions.
Step One: Choose ONE decade to research and find information in the databases for THREE of the following topics OR choose one topic and research three subtopics:
Significant national and/or world events
Significant people (national and/or world)
Popular culture (sports, entertainment, music, etc.)
Step Two: Take notes on your topics in the Note Taking Sheet.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of 336 reference encyclopedias. Search for your topic and decade. Home login: montytech1
MLA citations are at the bottom of every database article. It's also an easy copy and paste into your Note-Taking Sheet. The login and password for all databases from home is montytech1 - montytech1
Database Researching: Choose one decade (from 1930s to 1990s) to research in depth.
Type your research notes. Use the template to the right or use your own method. Look for helpful quotations and facts.
Turn all of your research for your chosen decade into a minimum one page written paper.
Make a works cited page for all of the sources you have utilized. You must use at least two different databases. Proper MLA formatting is required. Use Easybib.
Assemble your project. In total, you must submit your typed research notes, a paper, and a works cited page. The neatness, organization, appearance, and meeting deadlines of your project will be taken into account.
Keep all of your work! You will utilize it during term 2 and/or term 3! Scary thought I know, but it will be helpful- trust me.
Step 7: Create some type of visual that reflects your decade you researched and the paper you produced.
Once again, you must submit your:
- Typed notes sheets on your decade
- 1 page written response
- Works Cited page
Format for Written Response:
- 12 point font
- Times New Roman font
- Double spaced
- 1 inch margins