Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Annotated Bibliography: Terrorist or Freedom Fighter?: Home

Overview

Overview of the Assignment with Rubric

Did you miss something?  View to review here:
TOFF Part One: Research and Note Taking
TOFF Part Two: Creating the Annotated Bib
Note: We've changed the project to only mandate ONE database article.

View this Exemplar!

Research Databases

Use the following databases to find information about the attack:

Best for attacks in the past (pre-2012).  Search inside the
"Terrorist Collection".
Password at home: montytech1

 
 For attacks in the past (anniversaries) and more recent attacks.

 

MLA style citations are available for every database article.  

MyBib

MyBib.com is a citation manager that provides free citations for MLA, APA, and Chicago style.   Create a new Project, then Add a Citation.  Choose from website, book, journal, video, and more.   If citing a database article, click on More and then Write/Paste.  When you are ready to print your Works Cited or References page, click on Download Bibliography.  Click here for handout. Watch the video!

Rubric

Terrorist or Freedom Fighter? Groups and Individuals to Examine

  • Choose one event from the list below and research it in detail. 
  • Make a decision if the people involved were terrorists or freedom fighters.  
  • Write an annotated bibliography of THREE articles (ONE must be from a database).
  • You're not writing a paper, however, you must have an introduction with thesis statement and assertion. The introduction provides a brief summary of the event (who, what, where, when, why, and how). Provide specific examples from your three sources that support your claim in your thesis statement.
  • You will be using MyBib.com to create your annotations.  I suggest using the Note-Taking Sheet 

Suggestions from the Past:

  1. The Weather Underground - 1970s U.S. Government Bombings
  2. Swissair Flight 330 - 1970 Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine 
  3. Irish Republican Army (IRA) 1972  Bloody Sunday, Bloody Friday
  4. Black September - 1972 Munich Olympics
  5. Quebec Liberation Front - 1970 October Crisis 
  6. The kidnapping of Patty Hearst - 1974 Symbionese Liberation Army (SLA)
  7. Puerto Rican Nationalists - 1975 New York City Bombing
  8. Iran Hostage Crisis - 1979 
  9. Central Train Station Bombing - 1981 Bologna, Italy
  10. First World Trade Center Bombing - 1993 New York City
  11. Ruby Ridge - 1992 Randy Weaver vs. FBI
  12. Tupac Amaru takeover of Ambassador's mansion - 1992 Peru
  13. Animal Liberation Front - 1992 arson of Michigan State University
  14. Zapatistas - 1994 Overthrow in Mexico
  15. Anti-abortion shooting of Dr. Gunn - 1996
  16. Earth Liberation Front - 1998 Vail, CO arson

More Current Instances:

17. Lockerbie Bombing - 1988 in Scotland
18. U.S.S. Cole Bombing - 2000 in Yemen
19. Chechnya and Russia - 2002 Moscow Theater Hostage Crisis
20. Bali Attack - 2002 Jemaah Islamiyah
21. Peshawar school massacre - 2014 Pakistani Taliban
22. Islamic State (ISIS) - 2015 Paris attacks, 2015 Ankara, Turkey
23. Al-Shabaab - 2013 Westgate Shopping Mall Attack, Nairobi, Africa
24. Islamic State (ISIS) Kabul wedding bombing - 2019
25. Balochistan Liberation Army - Pakistan Stock Exchange - 2020
26. Insurrection at the Capital - 2020 Qanon
27. Taliban actions after U.S. troop withdrawal from Afghanistan - 2021

Other (permission needed)

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

  • An annotated bibliography is a list of sources that includes descriptive and evaluative comments about the sources reviewed. These comments are also known as annotations.
  • An annotated bibliography entry consists of two components: the Citation and the Annotation.

The Citation

  • Each entry begins with an MLA-style Works Cited citation. Sources appear in alphabetical order by author name or the title.  The first line is flushed left and any subsequent lines from the citation are to be indented. In addition, the entry is to be double spaced in the font Times New Roman size 12.
  • After this citation, write your annotation. Do NOT skip lines. The annotation should be set apart in an indented block.

The Annotation

  • A brief summary of the source (what is the source about?). Generally, an annotation is approximately 100-300 words in length (one paragraph). 
  • The source’s strengths and weaknesses, if applicable.
  • How is this source useful for research?
  • Validity of the source (authority of the author, background, education, etc.)
  • This section is also to be double spaced and indented.

Directions:
1. Use the template provided in Classroom.

2. In MyBib enter citations. Click to Copy Downloaded Works Cited and paste into template. Erase Works Cited.

3. At the beginning of the second (and third) citation, click enter.

4. Type your annotations between the citations in the space(s) provided.

5. After you are finished, select your annotation.  Go to Format and Align & Indent, then Indentation options.

6. For Indentation (inches), for Left, enter 1.  Then change Hanging to None.

7. Don't forget to type your Introduction.

 

Links for Reference:
Taft College: Annotated Bibliography Page

Indian River State College Annotated Bibliography Page