Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the following databases to find information about the attack:
Best for attacks in the past. Search inside the
Password at home: montytech1
For attacks in the past (anniversaries) and more recent attacks.
MLA style citations are available for every database article.
MyBib.com is a citation manager that provides free citations for MLA, APA, and Chicago style. Create a new Project, then Add a Citation. Choose from website, book, journal, video, and more. If citing a database article, click on More and then Write/Paste. When you are ready to print your Works Cited or References page, click on Download Bibliography. Click here for handout. Watch the video!
Terrorist or Freedom Fighter? Groups and Individuals to Examine
- Choose one event from the list below and research it in detail.
- Make a decision if the people involved were terrorists or freedom fighters.
- Write an annotated bibliography of THREE database articles.
- You're not writing a paper, however, you must have an introduction with thesis statement and assertion. The introduction provides a brief summary of the event (who, what, where, when, why, and how). Provide specific examples from your three sources that support your claim in your thesis statement.
- You will be using MyBib.com to create your annotations. I suggest using the Note-Taking Sheet
Suggestions from the Past:
- The Weather Underground - 1970s U.S. Government Bombings
- Irish Republican Army (IRA) 1972 Bloody Sunday, Bloody Friday
- Quebec Liberation Front - 1970 October Crisis
- Puerto Rican Nationalists - 1975 New York City Bombing
- Zapatistas - 1994 Overthrow in Mexico
- Black September - 1972 Munich Olympics
- Lockerbie Bombing - 1988 in Scotland
More Current Instances:
- Chechnya and Russia - 2002 Moscow Theater Hostage Crisis
- Islamic State (ISIS) - 2015 Paris attacks, 2015 Ankara, Turkey
- Al-Shabaab - 2013 Westgate Shopping Mall Attack, Nairobi, Africa
- Earth Liberation Front or Animal Liberation Front - various actions
- Islamic State (ISIS) Kabul wedding bombing - 2019
- Balochistan Liberation Army - Pakistan Stock Exchange - 2020
- Other (permission needed)
What is an Annotated Bibliography?
- An annotated bibliography is a list of sources that includes descriptive and evaluative comments about the sources reviewed. These comments are also known as annotations.
- An annotated bibliography entry consists of two components: the Citation and the Annotation.
- Each entry begins with an MLA-style Works Cited citation. Sources appear in alphabetical order by author name or the title. The first line is flushed left and any subsequent lines from the citation are to be indented (just like a regular MLA citation). In addition, the entry is to be double spaced in the font Times New Roman size 12.
- After this citation, write your comments for the annotation. Do NOT skip a line, but simply start the annotation after the citation.
- A brief summary of the source (what is the source about?). Generally, an annotation is approximately 100-300 words in length (one paragraph).
- The source’s strengths and weaknesses, if applicable.
- How is this source useful for research?
- Validity of the source (authority of the author, background, education, etc.)
- At the end, include one direct quote that you feel best supports your argument with an in-text citation. Ex: "Quote" (Author).
- This section is also to be double spaced and indented.
View/Use this template to get started.
View this Exemplar!
Links for Reference: