Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

1920s Research Project (Ms. Gerry): Home

Video Tutorials!

Did you miss something?  View the video of today's class:

Overview (Sept. 21st)
MyBib.com

Directions

Directions:

1. Choose one topic from the box to the right.

2. Search in the databases for your topic. (Note: you need to use two articles)

3. Take notes in the Note-Taking Sheet.  Look for helpful quotations and facts. Copy and paste the citations into the Note-Taking Sheet AND MyBib.com.

4. Develop a strong thesis statement about your topic. Your thesis statement will relate your topic to the decade of the 1920s. Support your claim with factual information from your research.

5. Draft a minimum five paragraph essay about your topic. (You may want make an outline first).  Include an introduction, at least three body paragraphs, and a conclusion.

6. Use MyBib for citations and attach your Works Cited to the last page.

Databases

You may only use databases for this project!  Please ask for help if you need it.

 Type in your topic and 1920sHome login and password: montytech1 

 Browse the 1920s or type in your topic and 1920s.  Home login and password: montytech1 

  Type in your topic and 1920s. No password is needed at home.
 

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of 336 reference encyclopedias. Type in your topic and 1920sHome login: montytech1   

Short Analysis Template

For a copy of the short analysis template, click here.

How to Write the Short Analysis Essay

  • React personally. (However, do no use personal pronouns)  Never write: “In my opinion…” Or “I think…”
  • Put order to your argument, starting with the least compelling evidence and building to the most impressive point. 
  • Use evidence from all articles to support your opinion. 

Short analysis format:

Introduction Paragraph:

  • Write an interesting “hook” sentence that makes the reader want to read on.
  • Briefly state the main points of your essay. Provide some background for your thesis.
  • Strong statement of thesis. What you argue in your essay?

Examples of the beginnings of thesis statements:

Although the idea behind Prohibition was to benefit society, the end result was a failure due to...
The 1920s witnessed a complete change in the way Americans ate due to the advent of the....
Clara Bow transformed cinema in the 1920s by... and becoming America's first "It Girl."


Supporting Paragraphs:

  • For each supporting paragraph bring down a briefly stated main point & then elaborate.
  • Use your voice to discuss the prompt and the main point.
  • Use evidence from the article to support your ideas.
  • Discuss one point per supporting paragraph.
  • Use both articles in your essay.  Choose one that you feel more strongly about.  Use the other article to dismiss 
  • Incorporate in-text citations from the article.  Use lead-in words such as "According to," "As stated by," etc.  
  • Use transition words to make the supporting paragraphs flow such as furthermore, in addition, moreover, first, second, third, finally, again, also, and, besides, further, in the first place, last, likewise, next, then.

 

Conclusion Paragraph:

  • Restate your thesis / main idea.
  • Summarize your main points. (Tie up any loose ends.)
  • Create an strongly worded “clincher” sentence to end your conclusion.
  • Never introduce new information in the conclusion.

 

Works Cited:

  • A Works Cited is mandatory. (2 references required).  Use MyBib.com
  • Include citation information from both articles.

MyBib

MyBib.com is a citation manager that provides free citations for MLA, APA, and Chicago style.   Create a new Project, then Add a Citation.  Choose from website, book, journal, video, and more.   If citing a database article, click on More and then Write/Paste.  When you are ready to print your Works Cited or References page, click on Download Bibliography.  Click here for handout. Watch the video!