Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Alas, Babylon Research Project: Alas, Babylon

The Assignment

Objectives:

1. Use databases, books and the internet to research a topic related to Alas Babylon.

2. Using the information found, create newspaper articles or answer questions.

3. Support your statements with factual and supportive information from your research.

4. Create a Works Cited page with properly formatted MLA citations.


The assignment from Mr. McMullen:

Option 1: NEWSPAPER PROJECT

CREATE THE FRONT PAGE OF A NEWSPAPER: 

Study a real newspaper front page and inside sections.  The Librarian has brought some today for you.  Pull stories and headlines from the novel, interview an important character about the headline event, an advice column from the book, and the facts of the main story.

You also need to include real news stories from 1959 in your newspaper – The Librarian has provided you with books to look through for ideas.  You will need also do research on the computer databases to learn about the time period. 

This must be a full newspaper of at least 3 pages.


Suggested databases:
Pop Culture Universe is a subset of ABC-CLIO.  From home, use the Monty Tech username and password.  After clicking on the link, click on Explore a DecadeClick on Introduction to the 1950s to get started.  This overview will briefly discuss political and cultural events that define the decade.  Use this database additionally for topics on fashion, music, and popular culture.

ABC-CLIO is a Social Studies database.  Use the Monty Tech password at home.  After clicking on the link, choose a database or search them all at the same time (recommended).  Take note of the number of hits per database before you click. You are more likely to find the article you want if there are more hits in the database. 

U.S. History in Context is a Social Studies database.  No password is needed at home.  After clicking, type in your search.  You can try typing in your decade and a keyword(s), or just type in the decade.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of 336 reference encyclopedias.  No password is needed at home.  After clicking, type in your search.  As you scroll through the results, read the headings. 

All MLA citations are at the bottom of every database article.  It's an easy copy and paste into Easybib for you.  See directions at left.


If you need to fill some space, you could do so with a recipe, a book review, feature, etc. Be sure your stories reflect events from that time period. Include a bibliography with your paper if you use outside sources. Check capitalization, punctuation, and spelling for accuracy. 


Consider using a template for your newspaper instead of starting from scratch.  For Microsoft Word templates, use http://newspapertemplate.net
For Microsoft PowerPoint templates, use http://www.presentationmagazine.com/editable-powerpoint-newspapers-407.htm

Option 2: LIVING WITHOUT ELECTRICITY

ELECTRICITY IN THE MODERN WORLD

In the book Alas, Babylon, our characters are faced with a daunting challenge: live life after a nuclear holocaust. The challenges that arise for them are numerous, and in many instances, they rise to the challenge. Their lifestyle has drastically changed, and now that there is no electricity, it has become much different than they are used to.  In your paper, you must discuss the role of electricity in our modern world.

This paper must be at least 4 pages in length, double spaced, in font Times New Roman size 12.

You must answer all these questions in your paper.

  1. Explain how electricity works.
  2. You must also find out the history of electricity.
  3. When was it invented, and by who?
  4. What year did electricity go mainstream?
  5. Could our society function without electricity?

Suggested databases:

Science in Context is a Science database.  No password is needed at home.  After clicking, type in your search, or click on Browse Topics for Electricity.

U.S. History in Context is a Social Studies database.  No password is needed at home.  After clicking, type in your search.  This one's good for historical information.

Gale Online is our largest database.  It is filled with newspaper, magazine, and book articles.  No password is needed.  This is your best source for researching what life would be like without electricity.

All MLA citations are at the bottom of every database article.  It's an easy copy and paste into Easybib for you.  See directions at left.

Option 3: COMMUNISM vs. CAPITALISM

THE COLD WAR

During the Cold War, communism clashed with capitalism. It was a war of ideals. Neither side wanted to give way. In your research paper, you must delve into the ideas behind communism and capitalism.

This paper must be at least 4 pages in length, double spaced, in font Times New Roman size 12.

  1. What is their history?
  2. Whose ideas were they in the first place?
  3. What impact have they had on our modern world?
  4. Why did they create tension between the soviets of Russia and America?
  5. Describe some of the conflicts that were caused by the clash of ideas (examples: Vietnam, Cuban Missile Crisis, etc.) 

Suggested databases:
Pop Culture Universe is a subset of ABC-CLIO.  From home, use the Monty Tech username and password.  After clicking on the link, click on Explore a DecadeClick on Introduction to the 1950s to get started.  This overview will briefly discuss political and cultural events that define the decade.  Use this database additionally for topics on fashion, music, and popular culture.

ABC-CLIO is a Social Studies database.  Use the Monty Tech password at home.  After clicking on the link, choose a database or search them all at the same time (recommended).  Take note of the number of hits per database before you click. You are more likely to find the article you want if there are more hits in the database. 

U.S. History in Context is a Social Studies database.  No password is needed at home.  After clicking, type in your search.  You can try typing in your decade and a keyword(s), or just type in the decade.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of 336 reference encyclopedias.  No password is needed at home.  After clicking, type in your search.  As you scroll through the results, read the headings. 

All MLA citations are at the bottom of every database article.  It's an easy copy and paste into Easybib for you.  See directions at left.

The Works Cited

You will all need to produce a Works Cited.  Record citations while taking notes. Paraphrase instead of copying word-for-word to avoid plagiarism. 

Use Easybib.com to organize your citations and for the final Works Cited.  Monty Tech has a school account.  Use the "coupon code" to register.