Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Cosmetology: Home

Career Search

Industry Recognized Credentials

Students enrolled in a Chapter-74 Cosmetology program are eligible to complete the required 1000 hours necessary to sit for the state exam and, upon successful completion, will be able to obtain a Registered Operators license (basic hairdressing license) in the State of Massachusetts. Additional licenses may be obtained within the Cosmetology field with further education including:

Other industry recognized credentials include: Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) and Careersafe certification Industry specific certification programs including but not limited to:

  • OPI, Creative Nail Design
  • Advanced hair coloring and cutting techniques offered through professional distributors.
  • Cinderella Extension certification program

Research Databases

Professional and Students Organizations

Related National, Regional, and State Professional Organizations
NCA- National Cosmetology Association
MVA- Massachusetts Vocational Association
MAVA- Massachusetts Association of Vocational Administrators

Student Organizations
SkillsUSA is a partnership of students, teachers and industry working together to ensure America has skilled workforce. SkillsUSA helps each student to excel. SkillsUSA’a mission is to help its members become world-class workers, leaders and responsible American citizens.

Reference Materials

Reference Materials
2012 Milady Standard Cosmetology, 1st edition
Milady ISBN: 10-1439059306
ISBN: 13-978143905 9302
1040 pages, 2012- Published

2008 Milady Standard Cosmetology, 1st edition
Milady ISBN-13 9781418049355
960 pages, 2008- Published

Trade specific technique videos from various distributors.

Career Safe and OSHA training

Massachusetts Stateboard of Cosmetology

Selected Websites
Massachusetts State Board of Cosmetology- www.mass.gov
American Association of Cosmetology Schools- www.beautyschool.org
National Accrediting Commission of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences- www.NACCAS.org
Beauty Job- www.beautyjob.com
Professional Beauty Association- www.probeauty.com
Pearson VUE- www.pearsonvue.com
Milady Online Licensing Preparation Program- www.miladyonline.cengage.com
The Paul Mitchell School- www.school-paulmitchell.com
Paul Mitchell- www.paulmitchell.com
Paul Mitchell Professional- www.paulmitchellpro.com
SkillsUSA- www.SkillsUSA.org
Massachusetts SkillsUSA- www.maskillsusa.org
OSHA/CareerSafe- www.careersafeonline.com www.ehso.com
Behind the Chair- www.behindthechair.com
Scissor Boy- www.scissorboy.com
Salon Sense Magazine- www.salonsense.com
Matrix Professional- www.matrix.com
Redken Professional- www.redken.com
All Nutrient Professional- www.allnutrient.com
Creative Nail Design- www.creativenail.com