Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Decades Project: Home

Objectives

1. Database Researching: Browse decades in Pop Culture Universe or online.  Choose one decade to research. Read an overview of the decade and take notes. Pick one topic from the list to study in depth or choose your own.

2. Type your research notes on one topic of the decade. Develop subtopics.  Use the Google Doc NoteSheet to the right or use your own method.  Look for helpful quotations and facts. Paste the citation from the databases into your notes sheet.  If using the web, create citations using MyBib, then copy and paste them to your notes sheet.

3. Develop a thesis statement about your decade. Support your claim with factual information from your research.

4. Ask your teacher regarding paper length!

5. Create a Works Cited using properly formatted MLA citations. You must use at least two different databases. Proper MLA formatting is required.  Use MyBib.com.

6. Assemble your project. In total, you must submit your typed research notes, a paper, and a Works Cited page. The neatness, organization, appearance, and meeting deadlines of your project will be taken into account.

Presentation: (If applicable.  See your teacher for details.) Create a visual or presentation that reflects your decade.  You may choose to create a Glogster, which is an online presentation project. See tab above for instructions.

 

The Research Assignment

Step One: Choose a decade, read an overview, and then find information in the databases below for a topic in one of these categories:

  • Significant events
  • Significant people
  • Inventions
  • Writers
  • Popular culture
  • Music
  • Art
  • Sports
  • Fashion
  • Economy
  • Politics
  • Food

Google Docs of Note Sheet

Log into your Google Drive Account first.  Click here, then File and Make a Copy.

  • Use the left side for your topic and subtopics.
  • Use the center for your notes.  You may number, bullet, or type in complete sentences!
  • Use the bottom box for your citation.

Note: A great practice is to print them and cut them into boxes when you write your paper!

Databases:

 Browse or search for your topic and decade.  Home login and password: montytech1 

 Search for your topic and decade (ex. 1920s)Home login and password: montytech1 (Note: Pop Culture Universe is a sub-database of ABC-CLIO).

  Search for your topic and decade. No password is needed at home.
 

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of 336 reference encyclopedias. Search for your topic and decadeHome login: montytech1   


Bloom's is a collection of Literary Criticism.  Type in The Great Gatsby and your topic.  Home login and  password: montytech1 


MLA citations are at the bottom of every database article.  It's also an easy copy and paste into your Note-Taking Sheet. The login and password for all databases from home is montytech1 - montytech1

The Final Product

Once again, you must submit your:

- Typed notes sheets on your decade
- Written response (ask your teacher)
- Works Cited page
- Visual (if teacher requests one)


Format for Written Response:

- Typed
- 12 point font
- Times New Roman font
- Double spaced
- 1 inch margins

See MLA tab for more information.

MyBib

MyBib.com is a citation manager that provides free citations for MLA, APA, and Chicago style.   Create a new Project, then Add a Citation.  Choose from website, book, journal, video, and more.   If citing a database article, click on More and then Write/Paste.  When you are ready to print your Works Cited or References page, click on Download Bibliography.  Click here for handout. Watch the video!