Directions:
1. After a brief demonstration, you will choose one topic from the box to the right.
2. Search in the databases for your topic. (Note: you need to use two articles)
3. Take notes in the Note-Taking Sheet. (or this one) Look for helpful quotations and facts. Copy and paste the citations into the Note-Taking Sheet AND MyBib.com.
4. Develop a thesis statement about your topic. Support your claim with factual information from your research.
5. Draft a minimum five paragraph essay about your topic. (You may want make an outline first). Include an introduction, at least three body paragraphs, and a conclusion.
6. Use MyBib for citations and attach your Works Cited to the last page.
Click to access the Database Prezi.
1. Understand why databases are valuable sources of information.
2. Using proper keywords searches in databases.
3. Using citations provided from database articles.
4. Using the proper database for specific subject research.
Freshman Research Topics
Health
How healthy were people during the Renaissance period? Did they practice good hygiene?
What sickness and plagues were common during this time period? What medicine did they use?
Entertainment
What did people do for entertainment during the Renaissance?
What were the popular sports, music, dance, and/or games?
Daily Life
What was daily life for people in the Elizabethan Era (or English Renaissance)? Research education, family, etc.
How was life different for the upper and lower classes?
What kind of punishments did they inflict for what kind of crimes?
What clothing did they wear? How did they fix their makeup and hair?
What food did they eat? What did they drink? Did it vary from upper to lower class?
Elizabethan Theatre/Globe Theatre
How did the theater (or theatre) operate in Elizabethan England?
What was involved in terms of acting/actors, staging, costumes, props, seating, and audience?
SEARCH YOUR KEYWORD AND ENGLAND RENAISSANCE OR ELIZABETHAN
Gale Virtual Reference Library has lots of information on the English Renaissance or Elizabethan era. You'll need the
password montytech1 at home.
ABC-CLIO is a Social Studies database. Use montytech1 for login and password at home.
MLA 8 citations are available for every article. Copy and paste into your Note Taking Sheet.
Here's an overview of the Databases, searching, and using a note taking sheet.
Here is a little video explaining how to use MyBib.com for this project (all classes).
General Requirements:
Typed notes from each source (three notes boxes total from two or more database sources).
Paraphrase facts and copy quotations. Paraphrase in your own words.
Paste database citations in your note-taking sheet.
Introductory paragraph with hook sentence, summary of your research, and a thesis statement with assertion.
Three full paragraphs - Include quotations (ask your teacher for details). Use your own words:
First sentence: Introduce a topic.
Middle sentences: Information from your notes about that topic.
Last sentence: The last sentence should transition to your next paragraph.
At least one parenthetical citation must be used in each body paragraph and after all direct quotes. See right box for help.
Conclusion
Works Cited page with at least 2 sources.
The first page must have the following in the upper right corner:
Your name
Teacher name
Class period
Date of project
Please use a citation after all direct quotes and after paraphrased information. Use a signal phrase before direct quotes.
Example: According to Simon Parker "Shakespeare continues to amaze us after centuries" (Parker).
Works with author and page numbers:
(Popoff 10).
Works with an author and no page numbers:
(Parker).
Works without an author or page number. Enter a shortened title in quotes:
("Seasonal").
MyBib.com is a free citation generator for MLA, APA, and Chicago style. Create a new Project & Add a Citation. Choose website, book, journal, video, etc. For database articles, click More then Write/Paste. To copy or print your final list, click on Download Bibliography. Click here for handout. Watch the video!