52-Word-Story Contest: No age requirement. Deadline on the 21st of every month. New prompts monthly. This month: Write a 53-word story about something green, BUT . . . do not use the word green. Winners are published and receive a free book.
MackinVIA: New Free Databases until June 30th In addition to thousands of free ebooks, Mackin has added several databases. To get into these books is easy and allows for simultaneous viewings. Go to mackinvia.com and enter the school name "monta" and the login and password: montytech1. There is also an app for mobile devices.
Archive.org's "Emergency Library." To access, go to archive.org and sign up with them using your Monty Tech account. Verify your registration with an email sent to your Gmail. Next, search for your book title in the Internet Archive (not the Wayback Machine: this is blocked). Click on a book. Then click on the blue "Borrow" button in order to borrow it for "14 days." After 14 days, I believe you can just borrow it again. It also has a text to speech button if you'd like it to read to you in a robot voice. You can also read these on a mobile device through your browser. Here's a video on how to access.
WGBH and PBS have curated FREE, standards-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more just for Massachusetts teachers. This collection combines all the resources of PBS and many have support materials. The top purple bar has a drop down menu for subject. Click and Assign to Google Classroom or copy and paste the video link and supporting materials in Schoology.
Curated podcasts and lessons on engaging topics, plus comprehension quizzes and a variety of accessibility features
and embedded supports for English learners. They have made their premium service free for schools during this
crisis. Easily integrated with Google Classroom.
For English teachers: A cross-curricular literacy tool designed with ELA teachers in mind. This tool includes non-fiction pairings for popular novels, research projects, Collections that complement many popular curricula, and fiction. Assign in Classroom or Schoology.
While school is out, Audible (part of Amazon) has FREE streaming audiobooks. Click, browse, and listen in your browser on your computer or phone. Go to stories.audible.com. Multiple languages available.
Podcast on Covid19 - Chief Medical Correspondent Dr. Sanjay Gupta provides daily updates about the coronavirus. He'll make sense of the headlines, speak with the experts - This site is updated daily, informative and free.
WGBH's Distance Learning Center. Find videos and activities and then test your knowledge.
For teachers: A calendar of all WBGH's upcoming webinars.
Free access to ebooks and audiobook from Massachusetts libraries!
Search for SORA in the app store. Open and Find my school. Click My School Isn't Listed at the bottom and type 01420. Click on MLS Commonwealth ebook collection. Select Montachusett Regional Vocational Technical School. Click sign in and use your montytech.net email account. Stream books. To download, you need wifi.
If using a computer and or downloading to a Kindle or Nook, go to: http://masslib.lib.overdrive.com. Choose Montachusett Regional Vocational Technical School. Click on your Monty Tech account. Take out three at a time (21-day loan). Or read or listen in a browser.
Note: you can also go to the Overdrive page of CWMARS and download books if you have a public library card and use the Libby app.
Note: These books automatically sync whether you use the website or the app. To expand your options, link your public library card to SORA. In the app, click in the corner and add a library. IF YOU DON'T HAVE A PUBLIC LIBRARY CARD, you can get one from the Boston Public Library for FREE (below). Get a card through them, and then add the BPL to your SORA app. Detailed instructions are here!
This eCard gives you online access to apps where you can borrow audiobooks and ebooks, among other things like research databases and movies. Here is the link to register for an e-card.