Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Freshmen Mini-Research Paper: Elizabethan Era: Home

Parenthetical Citations

Please use a citation after all direct quotes and after paraphrased information. Use a signal phrase before direct quotes. 

Example: According to Simon Parker "Shakespeare continues to amaze us after centuries" (Parker).

Works with author and page numbers:
(Popoff 10).

Works with an author and no page numbers:
(Parker).

Works without an author or page number. Enter a shortened title in quotes:
("Stryper").

Freshman Teachers Requirements

A Google Doc for Mr. Rooney's project is located here.

A Google Doc for Ms. Britten and Ms. Ortega is located here.

MyBib

MyBib.com is a citation manager that provides free citations for MLA, APA, and Chicago style.   Create a new Project, then Add a Citation.  Choose from website, book, journal, video, and more.   If citing a database article, click on More and then Write/Paste.  When you are ready to print your Works Cited or References page, click on Download Bibliography.  Click here for handout. Watch the video!

Objectives from Database Lesson

1. Understand why databases are valuable sources of information.

2. Using proper keywords searches in databases.

3. Using citations provided from database articles.

4. Using the proper database for specific subject research.

Topics

Freshman Research Topics

Health

  1. How healthy were people during the Renaissance period? Did they practice good hygiene?

  2. What sickness and plagues were common during this time period? What medicine did they use?
     

Entertainment

  1. What did people do for entertainment during the Renaissance?

  2. What were the popular sports, music, dance, and/or games?

Daily Life

  1. What was daily life for people in the Elizabethan Era (or English Renaissance)? Research education, family, etc.

  2. How was life different for the upper and lower classes?

  3. What kind of punishments did they inflict for what kind of crimes?

  4. What clothing did they wear?  How did they fix their makeup and hair?

  5. What food did they eat?  What did they drink?  Did it vary from upper to lower class?
     

Elizabethan Theatre/Globe Theatre

  1. How did the theatre (or theater) operate during Shakespeare’s time?

  2. What was involved in terms of acting/actors, staging, costumes, props, seating, and audience?

Database Research

SEARCH YOUR KEYWORD AND ENGLAND RENAISSANCE OR ELIZABETHAN 


 Gale Virtual Reference Library has lots of information on the English Renaissance or Elizabethan era.  You'll need the 
 password 
montytech1 at home.
 

 ABC-CLIO is a Social Studies database.   Use montytech1 for login and password at home.

 

MLA 8 citations are available for every article. Copy and paste into your Note Taking Sheet.

 


Here's an overview of the Databases, searching, and using a note taking sheet (Mr. Rooney's notes sheet is the example, but you do the same process for all classes)

Here is a little video explaining how to use MyBib.com for this project (all classes).

Paper Requirements

General Requirements:

  1. Typed notes from each source (three notes boxes total from two or more database sources).

    1. Paraphrase facts and copy quotations. Paraphrase in your own words.

    2. Paste the database citations in your note-taking sheet.
       

  2. Three fully typed paragraphs with a quotation from each source (ask your teacher for details). Use your own words and phrasing:

    1. First sentence: Introduce one topic.

    2. Middle sentences: Information from your notes about that topic. 

    3. Last sentence: The last sentence in the last paragraph should be more like a summary. Follow your teacher's instructions. 

    4. At least one parenthetical citation for each body paragraph and after your direct quotes. See left box.

  3. Works Cited page with at least 2+ sources.


The first page must have the following in the upper right corner:

Your name

Teacher name

Class period

Date of project