Skip to main content

History Enrichment Activities: History Enrichment Activities

Librarian

Jennifer Jourdain's picture
Jennifer Jourdain
Contact:
Montachusett Regional Voc Tech School
1050 Westminster Street
Fitchburg, MA 01420
jourdain-jennifer@montytech.net
(978) 345-9200 x5125
Website

FREE Enrichment Activitites

undefinedMackinVIA: New Free Databases until June 30th  In addition to thousands of free ebooks, Mackin has added several databases.  To get into these books is easy and allows for simultaneous viewings. Go to mackinvia.com and enter the school name "monta"  and the login and password: montytech1. There is also an app for mobile devices.  


undefined

Archive.org's "Emergency Library."  To access, go to archive.org and sign up with them using your Monty Tech account.  Verify your registration with an email sent to your Gmail. Next, search for your book title in the Internet Archive (not the Wayback Machine: this is blocked).  Click on a book.  Then click on the blue "Borrow" button in order to borrow it for "14 days."  After 14 days, I believe you can just borrow it again.  It also has a text to speech button if you'd like it to read to you in a robot voice.  You can also read these on a mobile device through your browser.  Here's a video on how to access.


WGBH and PBS have curated FREE, standards-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more just for Massachusetts teachers.  This collection combines all the resources of PBS and many have support materials.    The top purple bar has a drop down menu for subject.  Click and Assign to Google Classroom or copy and paste the video link and supporting materials in Schoology.


undefinedReading Like a Historian offers primary source investigations lessons on world and U.S. history. Civic Online Reasoning offers lessons for evaluating online content.


Incorporates primary sources and content organized around commonly taught topics. In addition to these resources, there are inquiry-specific resources and culminating activities.   Assign in Classroom or Schoology.


undefined

Collection of educator resources covering a range of history topics with a focus on addressing racism, antisemitism, and prejudice. There is a weekly updated page on coronavirus-related resources.


undefined

Curated podcasts and lessons on engaging topics, plus comprehension quizzes and a variety of accessibility features
and embedded supports for English learners. They have made their premium service free for schools during this
crisis. Easily integrated with Google Classroom.


undefinedEngaging civics content for grades k-12 in the form of games, lesson plans, and complete units.
 


The History Channel has lots of videos to stream, even without cable TV. Includes several readings and video clips on a wide array of historical topics.


undefined

Learning plans, lessons, student texts based around the social justice domains of identity, diversity,
justice, and action on a range of subjects including digital literacy, geography, and history.


Hundreds of innovative lessons and activities that center on the Museum's collection of historical artifacts.


Use ABC-CLIO (login: montytech1 - montytech1) as your social studies learning tool.  From the main page, click on any of the sub-databases (ex. American History). Then, click on a Time Period (ex. A Nation in Upheaval). Then choose another topic.  Read the Overview, Topic Essentials, and the quiz yourself on Check for Understanding.


Ted Ed - This collection offers a variety of lessons based on short animated clips. The students can search by theme. This particular series,  Government: Declassified has a series of 56 videos for students to view. Each lesson includes multiple choice questions, links to other relevant resources and discussion questions. https://ed.ted.com/series/government-declassified


 WGBH's (local PBS) Distance Learning Center.  Find videos and activities and then test your knowledge. They're producing a daily block of educational programming on the WGBH WORLD CHANNELS, beginning at noon today. WGBH WORLD can be found on Comcast 956, FiOS 473, and Charter 181.  This block of programs will run from noon to 5pm ET, and was put together for middle and high school students. Note that each program has associated optional related resources for online learning.  For teachers:  A calendar of all WBGH's upcoming webinars.


Other suggestions: