Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Decades Project: CP2: Home

Objectives

Decades Google Doc

1. Database Researching: Browse decades in Pop Culture Universe. Choose one decade (from 1900s to 2000s) to research. Read the overview of the decade and take notes. Pick one topic from the list to study in depth or choose your own.

2. Type your research notes on one topic of the decade (see list).   Use the Google Doc NoteSheet to the right or use your own method.  Look for helpful quotations and facts. Paste the citation from the databases into your notes sheet.

3. Develop a thesis statement about your decade. Support your claim with factual information from your research.

5. Write a minimum two to three page written paper.

6. Create a Works Cited using properly formatted MLA citations. You must use at least two different databases. Proper MLA formatting is required.  Use Scrible Chrome Extension and Google Docs Add-on.

7. Assemble your project. In total, you must submit your typed research notes, a paper, and a Works Cited page. The neatness, organization, appearance, and meeting deadlines of your project will be taken into account.

Presentation: (If required: See your teacher for details.) Create a visual or presentation that reflects your decade.  You may choose to create a Glogster, which is an online presentation project. See tab above for instructions.

 

The Research Assignment

Step One: Choose a decade to research, read an overview, and then find information in the databases below for a topic in one of these categories:

  • Significant events
  • Significant people
  • Inventions
  • Writers
  • Popular culture
  • Music
  • Art
  • Sports
  • Fashion
  • Economy
  • Politics
  • Food

Database Research

Look through the following and choose one decade to research. 


Pop Culture Universe is part of ABC-CLIO.   Click on Explore a Decade or Decades.  Click on "Topics" to get started.  Use this database later for topics on fashion, music, and popular culture. From home, use the montytech1 as username and password.

U.S. History in Context is a Social Studies database.  To begin your research, click on Browse Topics.  Click on a decade for overview or type in your search.  No password is needed at home. 

ABC-CLIO is a huge Social Studies database.  Choose a database or search them all at the same time (recommended).  You are more likely to find the article you want if there are more hits in the database.  Use the Monty Tech password at home. 

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of 336 encyclopedias. As you scroll through your results, read the headings.  No password is needed at home. 

You may also try Biography Resource Center for famous people, or Gale Group for more recent topics. 
All MLA citations are at the bottom of every database article or have citations at the top.  

Google Docs of Note Sheet

Log into your Google Drive Account first.  Click here, then File and Make a Copy.

  • Use the left side for your topic and subtopics.
  • Use the center for your notes.  You may number, bullet, or type in complete sentences!
  • Use the bottom box for your citation.

Note: A great practice is to print them and cut them into boxes when you write your paper!

Citations

Record citations while taking notes.  You don't want to have to go back and do it later!  Remember you need to cite whenever you use someone else's ideas or words.  Paraphrase instead of copying word-for-word to avoid plagiarism. 

Use the Scrible Chrome Extension and Google Add-on to keep your citations organzied and for the final Works Cited. See the MLA tab above for more directions. 

The Final Product

Once again, you must submit your:

- Typed notes sheets on your decade
- 2-3 page written response
- Works Cited page

Total project is worth 100 points.


Format for Written Response:

- Typed
- 12 point font
- Times New Roman font
- Double spaced
- 1 inch margins

Works Cited Page:
The Works Cited will contain all of the sources you have utilized for this project.  Proper MLA formatting is required.