Practical Nursing Program: Nursing Program

Practical Nursing Program Orientation Flyer
Sign into your montytech.net account first to access

Consensus.app: A search engine built over the Semantic Scholar dataset, which includes 200 million peer-reviewed documents (10 Pro Analyses per month, 10 Snapshots per month, 10 Ask Paper messages per month).

Scholar.google.com: A service of Google that provides links to abstracts and some full-text documents.

Connected papers: Paste in a title and receive a graphic representation of other papers (5 graphs per month).

APA 7 Home Page

Print Collection:  Nursing Program books are located near the door and may be borrowed via the clipboard on the desk.  There are books available as Reference only behind the desk: Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, Journey Across the Lifespan (6th ed.), Nursing Leadership, Management, and Professional Practice for the LPN/LVN (7th ed., Memmler's Structure and Function of the Human Body (12th ed.), Mental Health Nursing (6th ed.), and The ATI Comprehensive NCLEX-PN Review (19th ed.)

The Collection is divided into the following categories:
PN 362.1 History/Diversity
PN 371.264 Test Manuals/TEAS
PN 601 Reference
PN 610.69 Career/Management
PN 610.736 ATI Manuals
PN 610.73677 Medical Surgical
PN 610.73678 Maternal-Newborn, Pediatric
PN 612 Anatomy
PN 613 Geriatric
PN 615 Pharmacology
PN 615.854 Nutrition
PN 616.89 Mental Health

Request FREE Full-Text articles through interlibrary loan. I can request full-text documents for you. This is a FREE service, courtesy of the Massachusetts Library System (funded through the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners). This is the form to fill out. When I receive the article, I will email it to your MT account.

Covers all aspects of the nursing profession and includes articles related to the specialized care, treatment, and management of all sorts of patients..

Access to over 2500 journals, books, and videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. HRCA ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.

Access to academic journals and magazines in the fields of physical therapy, fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques and experimental research.

General Procedures for Using the Library: 

• The library is accessible to Practical Nursing Students after 1:00 p.m. The SmartRoom is generally available after school (2:40 p.m.) but may be used before then if available.
• Students do not have access to wifi, but may borrow a laptop from the Library. Please log in with your Monty Tech email and password.
• Food is not allowed. Covered drinks are O.K.
• Small quiet rooms cannot exceed six people per room.
• The Library is an area for research, reading, independent study, and learning. Students are expected to respect the rights of others.

Reliable Health Websites:

• National Institutes of Health (NIH): A leading research institution for various health sciences, including nursing. 
• National Library of Medicine (NLM): Contains a vast collection of biomedical information and is a leader in health informatics. 
• MedlinePlus: An NLM website providing patient-friendly health information. 
• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Offers credible information on health and safety for various audiences. 
• Mayo Health Clinic: Global, leading healthcare organization known for its expertise in diagnosing and treating complex diseases

Online access to American Journal of Nursing and Nursing is available through the links below.  

MyBib.com is a citation manager that provides free citations for APA style.  You must use this style.  Create a Project, then Add a Citation.  Choose from website, book, journal, video, and more.  If citing on online journal article that provides a DOI number, click on Journal, and then copy and paste the DOI.  If citing a database article, click on More and then Write/Paste.

When you are ready to print your References page, click on Copy and Paste Bibliography.

See the tab above or click for the APA 7 Guide and Sample Paper.