Mr. McMullen: Terrorist or Freedom Fighter? Project: Home

Overview of the Assignment with Rubric

Did you miss something?  View to review here (sorry, no sound):

• TOFF Part One: Overview
• TOFF Part Two: Formatting the Annotated Bibliography

View this Exemplar

Use the following databases to find information about the attack:

Best for attacks in the past (pre-2012).  Search inside the
"Terrorist Collection".
Password at home: montytech1

  For attacks in the past (anniversaries) and more recent attacks.

 

MLA style citations are available for every database article.  

MyBib.com is a free citation generator for MLA, APA, and Chicago style. Create a new Project & Add a Citation.  Choose website, book, journal, video, etc.  For database articles, click More then Write/Paste.  To copy or print your final list, click on Download Bibliography.  Click here for handout. Watch the video!

• Choose one event from the list below and research it in detail. 
• Make a decision if the people involved were terrorists or freedom fighters.  
• Write an annotated bibliography of THREE articles (TWO must be from a database).
• You will make an annotated bibliography (see other handout and website links). You are also writing a 2-3 page paper. Your paper must include an introduction with a thesis assertion as the last sentence. The introduction must provide a brief summary of the event (perhaps the five W’s and one H- {who, what, where, when, why, and how}- or a combination of any of them). We'll practice this so no need to worry. Your body paragraphs should include multiple quotes from your research, and discussion on how that information supports your thesis assertion. Your conclusion paragraph should summarize your main points, and provide a closing thought at the end of the paragraph. 
• You will be using MyBib.com to create your annotations.  I suggest using the Note-Taking Sheet 

An annotated bibliography is a list of sources that includes descriptive and evaluative comments about the sources reviewed. These comments are also known as annotations. An annotated bibliography entry consists of two components: the Citation and the Annotation.

The Citation

• Each entry begins with an MLA-style Works Cited citation. Sources appear in alphabetical order by author name or the title.  The first line is flushed left and any subsequent lines from the citation are to be indented. In addition, the entry is to be double spaced in the font Times New Roman size 12.
• After this citation, write your annotation. Do NOT skip lines. The annotation should be set apart in an 1" indented block.

The Annotation

• A brief summary of the source (what is the source about?). Generally, an annotation is approximately 100-300 words in length (one paragraph). 
• The source’s strengths and weaknesses, if applicable.
• How is this source useful for research?
• Validity of the source (authority of the author, background, education, etc.)
• This section is also to be double spaced and indented.

Directions:

1. In MyBib enter your citations. Click to Copy Downloaded Works Cited and paste into template. Erase Works Cited.
2. At the beginning of the second (and third) citation, click enter.
3. Type your annotations between the citations in the space(s) provided.
4. After you are finished, highlight your annotation.  Go to Format and Align & Indent, then Indentation options.
5. For Indentation (inches), for Left, enter 1.  Then change Hanging to None.
6. Don't forget to type your Introduction.

Links for Reference:

• Taft College: Annotated Bibliography Page
• Indian River State College Annotated Bibliography Page