Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Research Paper: A Manual for Monty Tech: Which Database Do I Use?

Database Descriptions

Databases for Monty Tech for 2013

Magazines & Newspapers Articles:

·       Gale Group:  A large suite of cross-searchable magazine and newspaper articles (including the New York Times) & 100 ebooks as part of the Virtual Reference Library.  Gale also provides a text-to-speech reader, a translator, and a mobile app.

·       JSTOR: Full-text articles from over a thousand scholarly journals. 

·       Proquest Newsstand:  Archived full-text articles from The Boston Globe.

Encyclopedia:

·       Encyclopedia Britannica: Authoritative background information as well as videos and primary source materials.

Biography:

·       Biography In Context from Gale: Biographical information on over 520,000 people.
Try also ABC-CLIO for famous people in history, Literary Reference Center and Literature Resources from Gale for authors.

Business:

·       General Business File ASAP from Gale: Company performance and activity.

·       Business Insight / Essentials: Company and brand information, rankings, reports, histories, and news.

Vocational:

·      Vocational Studies Complete from EBSCO: Full-text from 1,800 journals and 300 reference books designed for the research needs of vocational students.

·      Vocations and Careers Collection from Gale: Content from 400 journals for career exploration.

.   CINAHL Plus: Full text for nursing and allied health journals included in the CINAHL index –covers biomedicine, health sciences, alternative medicine, and more.*

.   Medline: Full-text for over a thousand journals indexed in MEDLINE. Cover-to-cover indexing. Medical literature, biomedicine, health policy development and more.*

.   Culinary Arts Collection from Gale: A collection of 150 cooking and nutrition magazines.

·      Nursing and Allied Health Collection from Gale: Covers all aspects of the nursing profession.

·      Nursing Resource Center from Gale: Disease and drug overviews, care plans, and diagrams from encyclopedias.

Social Studies:

·       ABC-CLIO: World and U.S. history, government, geography, issues, & pop culture by decade.

·       U.S. History in Context from Gale: Contextual information on U.S. people, events, and topics.

·       World History in Context from Gale: Contextual information on world people, events, and topics.

·       JSTOR: Full-text articles from over a thousand scholarly journals.

Issues:  See also magazine, newspaper, and book articles:

·       Global Issues in Context from Gale: Current social, political, economic, environmental, & health issues.

·       Opposing Viewpoints in Context from Gale: Information & opinion on today's social issues.

·       ABC-CLIO's Understanding Issues and Society:  Using historical and current data, explores how society shapes and is shaped by controversy.

Literature:

·       Literary Reference Center Plus from EBSCO: Plot summaries, reviews, criticism, biographies, over 99,000 poems, 23,000 short stories, 7,300 author interviews, and 8,200 classic texts in the ebook collection. 

·       Literature Resource Center from Gale: Biographies, criticism, reviews for over 130,000 writers plus "Lit Finder's" service of over 150,000 full-text poems, stories and plays.*

·       Contemporary Literacy Criticism from Gale: Criticism, biography, exploration of contemporary authors (who died after 1959).*

·       Books & Authors from Gale: Answers the question: What do I read next? Explore by author, title, genre.*

·       JSTOR: Full-text articles from over a thousand scholarly journals, as well as images, letters and primary sources.

Science & Health:

·       Science Reference Center from EBSCO: Science-specific, full-text articles for 23 encyclopedias, 182 periodicals, 725 reference books, 3,790 biographies, 61 animations, 519 videos, and 28,000+ images.*

·       Science in Context from Gale: Full-text magazines, journals, experiments, audio/visual.

.     Health Reference Center Academic: Journals, videos, books.

·       Health & Wellness Resource Center from Gale: Journals, videos, pamphlets, and reference.

Professional:

·       Educator’s Reference Complete from Gale: Full-text for 450 journals and other reference.

*Go to search.ebsco.com to view on a mobile device and type in remote username and password.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Jennifer Jourdain
Contact:
Montachusett Regional Voc Tech School
1050 Westminster Street
Fitchburg, MA 01420
jourdain-jennifer@montytech.net
(978) 345-9200 x5125
Website