At this point in the process, you should begin to assemble a bibliography of citations for your sources. Don’t even bother taking notes on a source without noting the bibliographic information. If so, you will have a lot of unnecessary work to do at the end of the project. If you think you could possibly use a source in your paper, you should add it into your MyBib list. You can always delete citations that you don’t use.
When you are researching, you get information from many places. It's important to list all those places in your paper or product. These authors gave you information, and you must give them credit. Give them credit by means of a Works Cited (or References page) and through parenthetical citations. If you don't give them credit, you are guilty of plagiarism, which is using someone else's ideas and words as your own.
How is this different from a “bibliography?”
A bibliography lists sources you used and reviewed. MyBib refers to your list of citations as a “bibliography” because it’s a work in progress. A source you add at this stage, you may choose not to use in your paper. You would just delete that source in MyBib before printing your final Works Cited or References page. An annotated bibliography contains a short summary of the source and an explanation of why you chose to use it or not. MyBib.com allows you to add annotations if you wish.
MLA or APA?
Your teacher will tell you which "style" he or she wants for your paper.
At Monty Tech, your options will be as follows:
This site explains the differences with examples: webclass.lakeland. cc.il.us/info_lit/citing4.html
MyBib.com is a citation manager that provides free citations for MLA, APA, and Chicago style. Create a new Project, then Add a Citation. Choose from website, book, journal, video, and more. If citing a database article, click on More and then Write/Paste. When you are ready to print your Works Cited or References page, click on Download Bibliography. Click here for handout. Watch the video!