Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Home: Home

Library's Homepage

LibGuides

Research Guides for Projects.  Assignments, research suggestions & more.

Book Club

Whispering by Jennifer Jourdain

Monty Tech Regional News Sources

This custom search engine searches newspapers that serve the district member towns.  For passwords to the Gardner News, Fitchburg Sentinel, and T&G, click here (Monty Tech only).

Welcome to the Library

Summer Assignments

Summer Assignments by Jennifer Jourdain

Resources


Catalog

Permission
Form


SORA

eBooks and Audiobooks

Commonwealth eBook Collections:

On your portable device, download the SORA app. Watch the VIDEO to learn how.

Click: "My school isn't listed" and tap MLS Commonwealth Collections.or Montachusett Regional Vocational Technical School. Sign in with your montytech.net account.  Read or listen in a browser To expand your options, link your public library card and/or Boston Public Library card to SORA (see directions below or watch the VIDEO).  In the app, click in the corner and add a library


Free Boston Public Library Card:
Get a FREE ecard from the Boston Public Library ONLINE.  Add the BPL to your SORA app for more books.  Detailed instructions are
here!  The BPL eCard gives you online access to apps to borrow audiobooks and ebooks, among other things like research databases and movies. Here is the link to register for an e-card.

Click here if using a computer and downloading ebooks to a Kindle or Nook. Choose Montachusett Regional Vocational Technical School.  Click on your Monty Tech account.  Take out three at a time (21-day loan). Move over to your Nook using Adobe Digital Editions or your Kindle. Or read or listen in a browser

Monty Tech's Destiny Discover:  Download the Destiny Discover app to find books and ebooks in our catalog.  Use your montytech login and password to login and download books.

Borrowing PRINT Books from the Library

Step-by-step instructions for borrowing Library books (VIDEO!):

  1. Browse our Library Catalog. Search for a book title, author, or subject.
  2. Click on the Title of the book you'd like to borrow.
  3. Log in with your Monty Tech username (not your email) and password and click on HOLD.
  4. We will retrieve the books and put them aside for you. If you can't find the book you want or you are having trouble with our system, use this form or send an email.  Return books to the Book Drop outside the library.

NEW! Technology for Easy Reading Online

These tools are Google Extensions and FREE. They will make it easier for you to read (and some have special features)

- Select and play
- Dictionaries
- Screen mask
- Highlights and Collect highlights
- Simplify page

- Immersive Reader
- Change font
- Themes/backgrounds
- Text size, spacing, 
- Pronounce words
- Line Focus

- Removes all ads
- Text size
- Sans font
- Theme (light/dark)
- Print-friendly

- Change all font to  OpenDyslexic
- Easy toggle on and off

- Instant switch for all features
- Font/background
- Shrink or hide images
- Read aloud has instant screen mask and underlines words in red

- Text to Speech
- Highlight/dictionary
- Display options
- Font
- Spacing (letter, line and word)
- Background color

- Google Speech to Text with Docs
- Zoom
- Dictionary

- Open Dyslexia font
- Audiobooks

Book the Library or the Smart Room

  • To see current bookings, click here.
  • For detailed instructions, click here.

AP Seminar Class: New for 22/23

AP Capstone by Jennifer Jourdain

MyBib

MyBib.com provides free citations for MLA, APA, and Chicago style. Create a new Project & Add a Citation.  Choose website, book, journal, video, etc.  For database articles, click More then Write/Paste.  To copy or print your final product, click on Download Bibliography.  Click here for handout. Watch the video!

Librarian

Profile Photo
Jennifer Jourdain
Contact:
Montachusett Regional Voc Tech School
1050 Westminster Street
Fitchburg, MA 01420
jourdain-jennifer@montytech.net
(978) 345-9200 x5125
Website

Links to Student and Teacher Resources

Hover over icon to read descriptions:

English

Resources for English, History, Math, Science, Vocational, Foreign Language, Alternative Learning, and College/Career.